You are viewing an old blog post! That means that links will be broken, and images may be missing.

June 29, 2007

Kick ’em when they’re down

Today’s Downsizer Dispatch . . .

Please share with concerned friends . . .

Subject: Repealing the REAL ID Act

Oh, those poor Senators. They’re really traumatized. They heard from far too many of their constituents over the immigration bill. The news is full of quotes about it. Senators feel assaulted, intimidated.

Don’t you feel sorry for them?

Maybe we should give them a break? Go easy on them? Let them catch their breath?

Naugh.

Let’s pound them again.

Just when they think the beating is over, and they’ve let down their guard, here comes another blow . . .

Congress needs to repeal the REAL ID Act. Americans don’t want it. It was passed in a dishonest way, by combining it with a completely un-related bill. The states are rejecting it. New Hampshire is the latest to vote not to comply. But . . .

The longer we let this law stay on the books the more likely it is to ensnare us. We dodged a bullet with the immigration bill, which could have made the REAL ID national identification system more entrenched.

Congress thinks they’re done with this issue, now that immigration legislation is tabled for a good long while, but we must disabuse them of this notion. They aren’t done until we tell them they’re done (they work for us remember), and we won’t be satisfied until the REAL ID Act is repealed.

Please write Congress today and tell them that. You can do so here.

In other news, Jim Babka will be on the radio today discussing the immigration victory and “9-11, Press for Truth.” Plus, his show on Sunday will discuss some more good news under the title “Lies, damned lies, and the New York Times.” Please tune in to both shows . . .

Let’s start with Jim’s regular appearance on the Jerry Hughes’ show today. If just four people would commit to call the show today, you’d keep Jerry hopping. And you’d create buzz that DownsizeDC.org guests are great guests to have (AND THEY ARE!).

And surely you have a question about Downsize DC . . . or a challenge for Jim.

The toll-free call-in number is: 1-866-222-2368
The email is: Jerry at AccentRadio dot com

Time: 3:05 PM Eastern, 2:05 PM Central, 1:05 PM Mountain, 12:05 PM Pacific

Length: 1 hour
Host: Jerry Hughes
Show: Straight Talk w/ Jerry Hughes
Internet: www.accentradionetwork.com/chooseplayer.htm
Click Winamp or Windows Media Player, as appropriate.

You can listen to the show in more than 20 markets. A complete list of “affiliates” is available here.

Plus, remember to tune in to Jim’s Sunday show. Thank you for being a DC Downsizer.

Perry Willis
Communications Director
DownsizeDC.org, Inc.

If your comment is off-topic for this post, please email us at feedback@downsizedc.org

comments

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*
 
© 2008–2019 DownsizeDC.org